Can Zac Efron shake Disney?

Posted: November 11, 2009 in movies, musicals
Tags: , , , , ,

I just watched the trailer (preview, whatever!) for the new Richard Linklater film, ‘Me & Orson Welles’. And it looks interesting.

A film set in the 30s, about the theatre and the great Orson Welles. All good.

A film by the guy who made ‘Dazed and Confused’, and ‘Before Sunrise’. Good again.

A film starring Zac Efron…. Hmmm….

Not necessarily a bad thing. I have to admit, I took myself off to see ’17 Again’ on a quiet evening, and really quite enjoyed it. Having never managed to bring myself to watch ‘High School Musical’, I must say I was somewhat trepidatious about the film, but given that time travel/body swap comedies are right up my alley, I gave it a go. And I’m glad I did. It was warm, funny, and Efron was surprisingly amusing and charismatic. He even reminded me a bit of a young Michael J Fox, but that may have been the echoes of ‘Back to the Future’ in the storyline.

However, let’s face it. The audience for ’17 Again’ wasn’t all that removed from that of ‘High School Musical’. It was perhaps a tad more likely to capture the adult viewer, but certainly not likely to suffer from allowing itself to be carried by Efron.

But can young Zac ever really shake his ‘High School Musical’ roots and be taken seriously? I will be interested in seeing ‘Me & Orson Welles’ to find out.

What do you think?

Comments
  1. LovingJakeRyan says:

    I can’t help but wonder whether if you took Zac Efron’s clothes off that he wouldn’t just resemble a Ken Doll? There’s something not quite right there.

    • lucyfoxx says:

      Are you saying that you think that there is nothing in his trousers but a Disney-friendly bump!? šŸ˜‰

      I almost feel like he’s waaaay too young for me to even think about him naked!

Leave a Reply

