The trailer for Ridley Scott’s “Robin Hood”. Awesome!

Posted: December 16, 2009 in movies
Tags: , ,

So, anyone who knows me well knows that I have a few opinions about Robin Hood. In fact I did a whole comedy show about it once. I often feel disappointed that they just keep making films about Robin Hood, and not about any of the other exciting medieval figures who have a more factual basis in history, and still led amazing lives, that would make great films.

But, as a bit of a medieval history geek, I can’t help but get excited about this film. The preview is full of swords, and maidens, and knights in armour – all the good stuff. And it has that great, grey grittiness that defined the opening of Gladiator. Suddenly, I don’t care so much that I have seen this story so many times. I want to see it again!

Now, if only someone would make a film about The War of the Roses (and no, I don’t mean the film with Michael Douglas and Kathleen Turner!). That would be amazing… Perhaps it should be me. Anyone got a spare £10 million or so?

Leave a Reply

