Jake Gyllenhaal – Love, Drugs and Source Code.

Posted: January 12, 2011 in movies, top 5 men
Tags: , ,

So, I went to see Love & Other Drugs a couple of weeks ago, and to be honest, I really enjoyed it. There I said it! I know it received some mixed reviews, and many accustations of vacuousness, and advertising drug companies were squarely levelled in its direction. But, as usual when I read a scathing review of a “chick flick” I enjoyed after seeing the film, I wonder whether we simply have different values in what makes a good film. For me, if the story is engaging, the leads charming, the acting good, and the cheese on the bearable side, then I’m pretty happy.

Ok, so I’m probably not the best judge of these things – I could honestly watch Jake Gyllenhaal stand next to grass growing for 2 hours and enjoy myself. But I thought it was great to see Jake working his charm, and humourous side – and the nudity was just a bonus! And, having always had a bit of a girl crush on Anne Hathaway, I enjoyed the chemistry between them.

However, I think what I’m really beginning to enjoy about Jake, as his career progresses, is his ability to move between big, budget, big name driven films (Prince of Persia, Day After Tomorrow), and low budget, character driven films (Donnie Darko, Brokeback Mountain, Jarhead). And his next film, Source Code, is precisely the latter. From the director of Moon, Duncan Jones, Source Code looks to be a high concept drama/thriller, with a good mix of the pulse-racing and the thought provoking.

And Jake is rocking some pretty sweet stubble action. Nice.

Comments
  1. Cindy says:

    This movie stinks !! Don;t waste your money!!

Leave a Reply

